Skip to main content

Assistant professor Amy Orsborn awarded 2019 L’Oreal USA “Changing the Face of STEM” mentoring grant

November 4, 2019

L’Oréal USA has recently announced 11 female scientists as the 2019 recipients of its annual “Changing the Face of STEM” (CTFS) mentoring grants, which are issued through the beauty leader’s For Women in Science program. The selected projects represent a broad range of activities focused on mentoring and engaging girls and women in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM), from elementary to graduate school. The grants will help fund STEM programs in Missouri, Texas, Florida, New York, Washington, Maryland, Massachusetts and California.

Now in its fourth year, the CTFS program supports former L’Oréal USA For Women in Science (FWIS) fellows in their efforts to inspire the next generation of girls and women in STEM. Members of the L’Oréal USA For Women in Science alumni network were given the opportunity to apply for $2,500 grants to help fund new or existing mentoring projects in their communities. The awards will be administered by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), official partner of the L’Oréal USA For Women in Science program.

Dr. Amy Orsborn, an assistant professor in the University of Washington (UW) Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE), will be using her first CTFS grant to support her mentorship organization that promotes Women In Neural Engineering (WINE). WINE was founded in January, 2019 by Dr. Karen Moxon (UC Davis) and has an executive committee of 10 other female faculty. Their mission is to provide vital peer‐to‐peer mentorship and networking for women in neural engineering. The group’s initial efforts center on women at the faculty level, as this career stage represents a key bottleneck towards inclusive STEM leadership. The CTFS grant will help WINE provide mentorship and outreach across the training pipeline.

Professor Orsborn’s Work:

Read more at Loreal USA, and find out more about Amy Orsborn and her research at Orsborn Lab.