Skip to main content

UW EE hosts the 10th Annual Dean W. Lytle Lecture

October 3, 2017

The 10th Annual Dean W. Lytle Lecture

Professor Robert Heath speaks at the 10th Annual Dean W. Lytle Lecture.

On October 2, the UW Department of Electrical Engineering (UW EE) hosted its 10th Annual Dean W. Lytle Lecture. Professor Robert Heath, the Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, presented his talk entitled “Millimeter Wave Communication: From Origins to Disruptive Communications.” In the speech, Professor Heath addressed the need of millimeter waves to expand the dwindling space of our current electromagnetic spectrum. Professor Heath explored applications from cars to drones to even deep sea communications.

See the full lecture below:

Honoring Dean W. Lytle

On display at the event was a photo of Professor Dean Lytle (right) in the classroom.

The Lytle Lecture Series honors the memory of, Professor Dean W. Lytle, who began his career as an assistant professor at the UW EE in 1958. He was a beloved teacher, mentor and intellectual powerhouse in the department. Professor Lytle’s research focus was in communications, networks, probability and signal processing. He authored two textbooks and his consulting work included appointments at Boeing, Honeywell and Bell Telephone. The Dean W. Lytle Endowed Lecture series was made possible through a collective fundraising effort led by the Lytle Family and Dr. Louis Scharf. Together with the help of alumni, friends and colleagues, who were positively impacted by Professor Lytle during his 40-year career at UW, they raised the capital to make the lecture possible. Professor Lytle’s wife, Marilyn, attended the lecture. Three of their daughters, Allison Perrin, Heidi Benton and Lisa Appelgate, attended the lecture with their husbands. Professor Lytle’s student, Dr. Louis Scharf, was also in attendance.

Prior to the lecture, faculty, the Lytle family attended the annual Lytle lunch.

Professor and Chair Radha Poovendran, Marilyn Lytle, Dr. Louis Scharf and Professor Robert Heath at the lecture.

Professor Jim Ritcey, Tim Benton, Heidi Benton, Lisa Appelgate, Dr. Louis Scharf, Marilyn Lytle, Professor Robert Heath, Professor and Chair Radha Poovendran, Allison Perrin and Steve Perrin at the lecture.

Please view additional photos here.